Saturday, August 13, 2005

Blah, Blah, Blah

This is floating around in blogville and it seemed an easy way to fill up my Saturday morning blog commitment. So now I'm off to get my real day done since a day isn't a day without some bloggin'.

10 YEARS AGO: We had just bought our first home in South Austin. I had just graduated from college with a BA in Communication. I was working as a Public Information Specialist for the City and I handled the media contacts and community relations functions for my department. Papa worked as a Human Resource Specialist (everyone was a specialist at something back then, I do believe we even had a VBX specialist – read receptionist). We had been married for 3 years and were TTC #1 with no luck.

5 YEARS AGO: Finally had DS #1 the year before and I was a SAHM. Papa was working in financial services, which was really hard because he was gone all the time. We had been living in the house we’re in now since right before DS#1 was born.

1 YEAR AGO: Now with two boys and still at home, but working part time again. Papa changed jobs and is now working for the state (we’ll just leave it at that, most of you know what he does now). We were preparing for DS #1 to start kindergarten and DS#2 to start preschool. It was the first time in a long time I actually had a moment to myself.

Yesterday: I took my 6 year old to find out who his first grade teacher would be for the year. I went to the chiropractor to get an adjustment and my boys stayed in the playroom and did so well. It was a really proud mommy moment.

TODAY: I am blogging and reading blogs while Papa takes the boys and the dog to Bull Creek Park, or as they call it “The Dog Park”. I have a butt load of stuff to do including getting the rest of the supplies for my *gasp* first grader that I haven’t purchased so far. Oh and groceries – we’re seeing how just how long we can go without bread. Then tonight we’re having our monthly birthday get together with Papa’s side of the family. There are so friggin’ many of them we are going to a once-a-month celebration rather than individual birthdays. Yes, it sounds cold and impersonal, but when you figure a family lunch brings 22 people just with the immediate siblings, well you gotta do what you gotta do.

TOMORROW: Hopefully checking out the new scrapbook store down yonder with my latest scrapbooking friend. Oh and I have to work on some scrapbooking stuff for a swap that is due at the end of next week.

5 SNACKS I ENJOY: Chips and queso or salsa or guacamole (or hell, all three). Diet coke. Popcorn, kettle corn is my favorite. Dove chocolate.

BANDS I KNOW MOST OF THE LYRICS TO THEIR SONGS: Journey, Hall & Oats, Sarah McLachlan, Veggie Tales, Pat Benatar, White Snake, Celine Dion.

THINGS I WOULD DO WITH 100 MILLION DOLLARS: Pay off my student loans and then burn the paperwork is a glorious fire. I’d pay for both the boys’ college right now, right now or at least put the money away so they’ll never know the pain of student loans. Then I’d go to Disney World, of course. I’d buy a new car for me, Papa and some well-deserving relatives. Buy a new house (though truth be told I like the one we have now so I’d stay here until I could have My Dream House built and not worry about the time factor). I’d start a foundation for single parents who have trouble with child care because they work odd hours or simply can’t afford it in the hopes that kids wouldn't be left home alone when they didn't want to be. I give money to all kinds of kid’s organizations.

5 BAD HABITS I HAVE: Spending too much time on the computer, buying too much scrapbooking stuff, over committing myself, over eating, blowing off exercise.

5 LOCATIONS I WOULD RUN AWAY TO: Oregon, a Mexican beach, New York City, Chicago, Utah (lots of scrapbooking stores there) – oh, and no I have no desire to leave the United States, except for the aforementioned Mexico. I’ve been to Europe and seen pictures of other places, that’s enough for me.

5 THINGS I LIKE DOING: Scrapbooking, blogging, reading, baking, decorating my home.

5 BIGGEST JOYS OF THE MOMENT: I am still at home with my kids. I’m still married after all these years. I’m making good friends and building a strong support system. I have a flexible part time job that allows me to be with my kids and still make a contribution to the household (and it’s only .4 miles away – gas prices people!). I have family all around me.

5 FAMOUS PEOPLE I WOULD LIKE TO MEET: Sandra Bullock, Oprah, Elizabeth Vargas, George Lopez, Jada Pinkett-Smith

5 MOVIES I LIKE: Fools Rush In, When Harry Met Sally, 13 going on 30, Sleepless in Seattle, Ocean’s Eleven

5 TV SHOWS I LIKE: CSI, Grey's Anatomy, Law and Order, Brat Camp, Boston Legal

5 FAVORITE TOYS: My digital camera, my Quickutz, my coffee maker, I guess I should get new toys.

+

1 comment:

lily said...

Hurray for Sunday! As a bonus we can stop at Cabela's on the way, and get some kettle corn. It's my favorite too!